robert e. thomas

  home | vita | music | teaching | photos | copyist | contact |

Program Note
Score Sample & Sound Clip

Quintet is scored for Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Cello and Marimba. It was completed in February 2001 and premiered at June In Buffalo in the Summer of 2001 under the baton of Magnus Martensson. It was performed again by the HELIX! Ensemble at Rutgers University in the Fall of 2001.

The piece is in a two-part form with coda. The first part emphasizes the paired winds and strings, with lines passing back and forth both within and between the pairings. In the second part and coda the Marimba assumes a more prominent role.

Quintet layers both pitch structures and instrumental treatments. Each pair of instruments (winds and strings) moves through its own pitch stream in its own manner. The winds proceed in a rather straighforward fashion, moving in character generally from more lyric to more syncopated and back again. The strings utilize a much more complicated path, incoporating phased pitch segments in an underlying rhythmic construct which is organized around tuplets of 3, 5, 7, and 11. The Marimba constitutes yet a third layer, with its pitches resulting from the combined pitch streams of the winds and strings.

Approx. Duration = 5:00

Score sample:
Page 17 (pdf)

Sound clip:
Streaming RealAudio

Download RealAudio Player here